Good Food

Easy Fried Okra Recipe- 5 Steps & Indian Style!

This fried okra recipe is as easy it gets. The weird mushy vegetable gets a tasty, fried Indian makeover that anyone from a kid to an older person would gobble up in seconds. But let me warn you- this is a fried okra recipe with a spicy note to it. It is perfect for whipping up during a lazy Sunday morning, matching well with a bowl of rice and dal/sambar/curd. But you can polish it off with toast and call it a day too!

Before I get into the recipe, let me speak a bit about my cooking venture-I am a newbie to the world of cooking. I just got married in November 2016 and I began full fledged cooking this January. I am a beginner, looking for time saving, easy recipes that I can throw together (hopefully deliciously) in the mornings.

With that said, let’s jump head first into a spicy, finger-lickin’ fried okra recipe you would definitely want to try making at home!

RECIPE- Fried Okra

SERVES: 2

COOKING TIME: 20-30 minutes

INGREDIENTS:

  1. 20 to 30 green okra pods- sliced into thin, round pieces
  2.  1.5 teaspoons red chilli powder X 3 times
  3. 1/2 teaspoon cumin powder X 3 times
  4. 1/2 teaspoon coriander powder X 3 times
  5. 1 pinch of turmeric powder X 3 times
  6. 1 teaspoon of salt X 3 times
  7. 3/4 cup water ( 1 cup= 240 ml)
  8. 6 teaspoons of vegetable oil (I used canola oil)

Note: When I say “X 3 times”, it means I will be using 1.5 tsps and 1/2 tsps for each round, repeated thrice. For reference, see the method.

METHOD:

  1. Take a wide plate and add the spices- 1.5 tsp red chilli powder, 1/2 tsp cumin powder + 1/2 tsp coriander powder + 1 pinch turmeric powder + 1 tsp salt. Mix it and then add about 3 tablespoons of water slowly, bit by bit till the mix is paste like but with wateriness to it.img_20170228_133143640    img_20170228_141504393
  2. Add about one and a half handful of okras to the above paste. Mix it well so that each okra is covered with the spice paste.

img-20170225-wa00023. In a large, flat bottomed pan; heat 2 teaspoons of oil for about 2-3 minutes. (This is for electric stoves) Using a wooden spatula, spread the oil all over the pan.

4. Add the spice-coated okra slices carefully into the pan and separate them. This is done so that they do not clump together and create a mushy mess.

img-20170225-wa00005. Cover the pan with a lid and cook the okras on each side for about 3-5 minutes. The stove should be set to medium heat. Flip the okras carefully when turning them over, and pick them individually and turn if need be.

6. Once the fried okra is done, it will look like this:

img-20170225-wa00017. Repeat the steps 1 to 5 twice, till the whole cooking is done. Under the ingredients olumn, I had mentioned “X 3 times”. This is what I meant- repeat steps 1 to 5 three times with the measured amount of ingredients mentioned.

And voila- here’s your easy, fried okra recipe- à la Indian style!

I hope you try this recipe at home. Do let me know what you think of it in the comments below.

 

6 thoughts on “Easy Fried Okra Recipe- 5 Steps & Indian Style!”

    1. Hey Andrew, thank you! 🙂 I’m really liking it. It’s therapeutic in a way, going about the whole process. I’m learning slowly, experimenting and improving on it. What about you? Are you a beginner like me? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not on facebook, but you can share the article if you want to! 🙂 If I ever get on to facebook, I will join the group. Thanks once again!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

