striped dress
fashion, Shopping

White, stripes and all things nice!

Who doesn’t love a good rhyme, right? Anyway, a big hello to all and I hope you’re going to have a bangin’ weekend ahead! I myself am heading off with my husband and friends on a long weekend trip tomorrow, so yay!

This blog post is dedicated to your cliche ‘white in summer’ trend, but I’ve also thrown in the much loved stripes into the mix. Now, white is one of the colors that flatter universally and creates a classy, casual-but-put together vibe.

IMG_1638

The white dress seemed to pop against my warm toned skin on that particular sunny day. And this was after a 2 shades dark tan only a day after a trip to Mount Rainier!

IMG_1647

Coming back to the outfit, it is a shirt dress that I picked up at a crazy good sale at H&M in February this year. And guess how much I got it for? Well, I’ll give you the answer myself- $7! I asked the salesperson TWICE if this really was the selling price, and she laughingly said yes. Then and there, it became a part of my wardrobe.

This particular dress can be styled for both formal and casual looks, and I chose the latter option. Granted it looks a little dressy for a casual look, but this one is perfect for lunch dates/shopping trips/non-sporty activities. (:P)

 

 

 

IMG_1658

I paired it with my trusty and super comfortable white Adidas sneakers, perfect for walking around a lot. I wanted to pair the dress with an accessory that would tone down the formal vibe, and I chose a silver boho coin necklace. The whole look was somewhat cool toned, but a calming one for that hot day outside.

IMG_1662

The vertical stripes and the collar on the dress created an illusion of a taller, slimmer physique (which I definitely don’t mind). 😉 If I had to wear this dress as a formal wear outfit, I would trade the sneakers for a pair of white loafers/blue block heel sandals and swap the necklace for dainty stud earrings.

IMG_1666

A fun fact- All the photographs were shot at the parking lot of a small mall, because it was way too hot and sunny outside to travel elsewhere. And I can’t thank the husband enough for patiently clicking pictures of me while passersby stared at me weirdly.

OUTFIT:

Dress- H&M (similar one here)

Shoes- Adidas

Necklace- aliexpress.com (or search for silver coin necklace)

Sunglasses- Michael Kors

____________________________________________________________________________________________

I hope you guys like this look I created, and please let me know what your go-to summer day out outfit is! I’m still learning the hang of fashion blogging and styling, hoping I’ll get as good as most of you all out there. 😀

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you all on my blog again pretty soon! 🙂

 

 

1 thought on “White, stripes and all things nice!”

Leave a Reply

